Tags

, , ,

So Saturday morning we woke to the news that Mitt chose Paul Ryan as his running mate.  I don’t know anything about the man so I decided to perform my own background check on him and start clicking on news stories and of course scan the articles’ related comments.  I wasn’t surprised to see remarks for him or against him, or how he was or was not the right choice, but what I was dismayed to see was the number of women saying, “who cares” or that it didn’t matter because they weren’t going to vote anyways.

I also recently had the pleasure of talking to two lovely young ladies of voting age who both told me they were NOT registered to vote.  One told me that she didn’t register to vote because it “wouldn’t count” (perhaps she was too young to remember the recount in Florida, where clearly every vote counted) and the other didn’t have an answer for me.

I don’t understand that line of thinking and quite frankly it pisses me off.

Did they forget that women weren’t even given the right to vote until 1920?  It hasn’t even been 100 years and some women are already taking it for granted??  Unacceptable.

Did they forget that women literally FOUGHT for our right to vote?

I know that people are too lazy busy to look it up so let me help refresh your memory on some of the things they had to go through.  Some suffragists organized a picket outside of the White House and it turned ugly really quick when men attacked them, first with verbal assaults, and then with physical violence, all while the police stood by and watched.  The women were arrested, beaten, and some were even tortured. They endured that abuse for US.

At first President Wilson, a Democrat, was against allowing women to vote but then in 1917, in response to public outcry about the prison abuse of those suffragists, he reversed his position and announced his support for a suffrage amendment.

These courageous and determined women (I’m sure alongside many of our grandmothers and great grandmothers) fought so that we, their daughters, granddaughters, sisters, aunts, and any other women living in this great country could pull the lever fill in the circle at the polling booth and have a say.

One of the very first things I did when I turned 18 was to register to vote.  I couldn’t wait to vote so that I could have a say and express my opinion.  I felt that voting was a way to thank women like Susan B. Anthony , Elizabeth Cady Stanton,  Alice Paul,  and Lucy Burns  for paving the way.

I will honor them by voting each and every time I can.

If you are not registered I encourage you to not only register to vote, but to educate yourself on the topics don’t listen to what the media feeds you-double check them, and then most importantly vote.  If you have time for Jersey Shore or whatever other excuses reasons you may have I’m sure you can spare some time to show some respect and appreciation for the women who fought for us as well as for this great country that we live in.

Not sure where you stand or which candidate best represents your point of view? Try answering the questions on one of these:

iSideWith

Candidate Match Game

Vote Chooser

None of these “games” will replace educating yourself in order to come to your own conclusion.

Your single vote may seem like it doesn’t matter but when your vote is coupled with others who believe the same as you, your “voice” all of the sudden becomes louder.

We are very fortunate to live in a country where we can vote.  We must be active participants if we want this thing called democracy to work.

As much as I’d love to tell you who to vote for that decision is up to you.

Don’t vote for someone because your husband, brother, father, mother, sister, best friend, or your favorite actor told you that’s who they’re voting for.  Educate yourself and make your own choice (always play devil’s advocate instead of seeking out information that supports your view-trust but verify is a good rule of thumb to live by).

What is most important: that you vote!!

