Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I got my pistol early last year but it had remained in its box until spring of this year.  I was excited that I had received my pistol permit but didn’t know where to start and honestly I was afraid to handle the gun.  I didn’t want to do anything wrong, to break it, or have it accidentally go off. 

I now know that this is complete ridiculousness but keep in mind I’ve never owned a gun in my 36 years of life…this is all new to me so have a laugh and bear with my newbie gun ownership moments.  I want to share my story because I know that there are other beginners out there just like me and I want them to know that they are not alone and to not let anything hold them back from learning how to use firearms.

I finally decided that I was ready to learn but was anxious about joining a range.  I was afraid that I’d look like a fool because I really wasn’t sure how to “really” use Walther at all.  I was afraid that I’d do something wrong.  I was afraid to take the first steps. 

Enter my hubby, the love of my life for the past 19 years.  I told him about my reservations of going to the range and he reassured me that with little practice I’d be ready to go, no worries.  He was right. 

For a few weeks each night he would have me practice clearing Walther, dropping the magazine, loading the magazine with one bullet (yes just 1 bullet), hitting the slide release, clearing it. I did this process over, and over.  I was nervous at first but after doing this exercise each night by the end of 2 weeks I was very comfortable and felt ready to take the next step of actually going to the range. 

All of my fears were unfounded of course and I’m now feeling a bit silly for waiting so long to pick up my gun.  Learning to use Walther and going to the range were not as scary as I thought, in fact it was not scary at all it’s actually empowering and quite fun.

I’m comfortable with taking baby steps…what is most important is that I took the first step.  My advice to newbies like me: don’t be afraid to start.  You won’t regret it.

